I didn’t realize it at the time, but I married into a long standing William’s family tradition of cart horsing. That is to say, putting the cart before the horse. What I also didn’t realize, is that being married to Husband would allow this habit to wear off on me.

download

Late one evening, while Husband and I were still waiting for Twinkie to arrive, Husband hands me the iPad and says: ‘Bear with me here, but I have a proposition for you.’ I look down at the screen and see the website for Second Use pulled up.

For those of you that have never experienced the wonders of Second Use, let me explain. Second Use is a salvage resale store located in the Industrial District south of downtown. It is like the Goodwill of housing items, but better. And they have an awesome inventory function of their website that allows you to see everything in the store so you don’t have to drive down there only to discover they have nothing that you want or need. But I digress.

Looking at the website, Husband begins to remind me that one of our hopes for Ozzie is to have a gourmet kitchen, complete with a state-of-the-art range. But in order to make that happen, we need to be on the look out for some good deals. I can’t argue with that logic, so Husband proceeds to show me a 30 inch Wolf range that just came up on Second Use’s website. It looks a lot like this:

contemporary-gas-ranges-and-electric-ranges

I know that these ranges retail for a lot of money. As such, jumping on the opportunity to buy a used Wolf range makes a lot of sense. However,  I also know that we don’t have a ton of room in our budget to be buying nice ranges at the moment. But even more than that, I KNOW that we do NOT have space in Ozzie for an extra range right now. Especially when each night, before we go to bed, we have to do a delicate dance to get the furniture positioned just right in order to have space to put the bed down.

However, my wannabe gourmet chef alter ego takes over and demands this range. Now, for those of you that know me, you are probably wondering who this alter ego is since my go to dinner dish is Pesto Pasta. But I assure you, deep down inside of me is the next great Julia Child, or so I led myself to believe. Plus, this range at Second Use was a REALLY good deal.

And so, Husband and I decided to drive down to the store first thing in the morning to check it out. We had the intentions of just looking it over and taking our time to decide if this is what we really wanted.

But once, we got down there and saw the range, we decided that we NEEDED to have it right now. And so, we put that cart right on in front of that horse and purchased ourselves a brand spanking new (to us) Wolf range. I haven’t seen the range since we bought it because it is sitting in storage at Brother-in-law’s house, but every time I use our current stove to boil water for pasta, I dream of the day I can boil water on our new Wolf range in our freshly remodeled kitchen. It will be a glorious day!

